So What if I’m no Writer or Photographer?

You’ve stumbled upon my travel blog.  Thank you!  There are so many of these out there and you’ve probably been spoilt for choice.  There’s an abundance of amazing, entertaining, inspiring blogs out there.  Oh I missed out money making!

English was never my strongest subject at school.  I was never good at art.  My stick men don’t even look like stickmen!  Maths and science are my subjects.  I enjoy writing and I enjoy telling a good tale and luckily I have a few of those from this amazing and captivating world I’ve seen.

If I’m honest, well I am a honest type of gal, I thought that starting a travel blog might lead to some discounts when travelling.  There I’ve said it out loud.  I’m fully aware I could never hit the dizzy heights of being paid to travel the world, but there’s no harm in daydreaming.

DSCF5253

From following some amazing travel blogs, they declare themselves as writers and photographers.  I can write; well I can string a sentence together. Yet I strive to tell a mesmerizing story, and whilst my photography is improving, I’m clearly no professional.

I’ve been meaning to write up my travel memories in a blog for some time.  It was never intended to be a money making aim but to act as memory bank of my tales.  Just the latest rumors of those making cash gave me a bit of a shove to get it going.

I feel I’ve done well with my twitter account, garnering 2.5k followers.  I’m gaining some momentum on instagram and my blog is getting some likes and views.  All sounds promising for a project that started less than a month ago.

Yet, it almost feels artificial.  Mass following on twitter to get followed back, liking others pictures to get likes back.  I’m starting to wonder if the few subscribers I have to this blog, are just to gain more attention to their own blog.   This was highlighted the other day, when I had 4 likes on a new post in the first hour.  Nice you may think.  Yes, but I’d only had one view!!  One view.  How can that be?  There are many ways to like an article and they include not viewing the post.  Again just trying to gain attention to their own blog.

Am I going to stop?  Hell no!  I’ve been enjoying this journey of learning from others.

Am I going to give up?  Give up on making it a professional endeavour.  Yes, wholeheartedly!

DSCF2738

Successful Bloggers

We’ll take the broke backpacker as a case study here.  I came across his youtube video to start with.  He is a very charismatic, happy, passionate, camera friendly kind of chap.  His blog looks very professionally done, and the content is great.  Then you see just how much of a following he has.  To give you an idea he has 60,000 unique visitors a month.  Wow!

Why is it working so well for him?  Because he’s good at it.  His snapchat stories are the most dynamic and interesting to watch.  Because he’s on a very intense full time journey.  On pretty much no money.  He’s on a journey and he’s taking us along for the ride.  He has a brand and he’s selling it very well, whilst clearly working hard to keep it working for him.

What am I going to do?

Keep calm and carry on.

Carry on as part time traveller.  I’ll continue to backfill this blog with some of my previous travel stories, and add new ones as I go.  Keep posting some of my favourite pictures.  Keep liking good pictures on instagram.  Keep retweeting the best tweets.  I’ll also give snapchat blogging a go.

Mostly, I’ll be daydreaming about quitting my job and floating around the earth like a free spirit and smiling as I watch those brave enough to already have done it.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “So What if I’m no Writer or Photographer?

Leave a Reply

